Our First Mayor
The year was 1910. The times “they were a-changin’”. Suffragettes marched. The Belle Époque was in full swing. The Tango was danced. Class divisions were cracking. White was “in”. Hats were big. And Beaconsfield was incorporated.
Located in the West Island of Montreal, on the shores of the magnificent St. Lawrence River to the South and the old growth forest of Angell Woods to the North, Beaconsfield is a town brimming with community spirit, residential charm and historic buildings. Tree-lined streets, frequently seen wildlife, and waterfront green space echo the country life that imbued the land 100 years ago.
Beaconsfield’s roots stretch back as far as 1678 when Jean Guenet was given one of the first concessions in Beaurepaire. In 1874, the Honourable J.H. Menzies bought a large farm on the lakeshore, now occupied partly by the Beaconsfield Yacht Club, and changed its name to Beaconsfield in honor of his friend Benjamin Disraeli, Earl of Beaconsfield, and British Prime Minister under Queen Victoria. At the time of our city’s incorporation, the name Beaconsfield was chosen, a name already in common usage to designate the eastern part of the new city, the train station and the Beaconsfield Golf Club.
For over forty years, the City of Beaconsfield was known for its summer cottages and semi-rural way of life. In the late 1950’s it began to develop into the tranquil, picturesque residential community it is today ― capturing the hearts and souls of many who’ve come to stay.
written by O. Kona
sources: www.beaconsfield.ca and Beaconsfield and Beaurepaire
by R. Baird and G. Hall