Historic Homes

Centennial Hall Fast Facts

  • It was the residence of J. Léonide Perron, the first mayor of Beaconsfield.
  • It was sold in 1940 to Léo  Dandurand, co-owner of The Montreal Canadiens Hockey Club and restaurateur.
  • It was sold in 1953 to the Sisters of the Good Shepherds and the residence became a Youth Protection School for Girls.
  • It was purchased by the City of Beaconsfield on January 12, 1965 for $190,000 to accommodate both its Administrative and Technical Services. In 1968, when City Hall moved to its present location, the building was renamed Centennial Hall to commemorate Canada's Centennial Year, 196,7 and was designated it a Cultural Centre.


Sources: Pg. 72-73 Beaconsfield and Beaurepaire book, www.beaconsfield.ca
Written and researched by M. Purvis

 

13 Thomson Point, the Oldest House in Beaconsfield

On May 18, 1678 a land grant was received by Jean Guenet. At the time the land was referred to as ‘La pointe de Beaurepaire’, but today we know it best as Thomson Point. Ninety-one years later on April 4, 1769, Amable Curot, described as a ‘bourgeois voyageur’, gained control of the Guenet farm and proceeded to build a large house measuring 65 feet by 38 feet probably incorporating foundations laid down by Guenet around 1701.

These foundations still exist today underneath 13 Thomson Point making it the oldest house in Beaconsfield. The basement walls are up to 3 feet thick in places and contain three tapered openings called meurtrières in the south face. These could have been used to defend the building against attackers and indicate the building had probably been a fortified trading post at one time. Previous owners tell of having found a skeleton and shackles in a part of the basement that might have been used as a prison.

The house also boasts magnificent roof supports in the attic, major floor beams placed side by side as in the Château Ramezay in Montreal and a central fireplace — all indications of its age.

Throughout the years the house has had many owners. The Reford family owned it from 1891 to 1907 and the present owner, Barbara Barclay tells of finding some old gardening gloves which might have been worn by Elsie Reford herself. If you are fortunate enough to visit the house today you will find a home that reflects the eclectic interests of the present owner. As the President of the Beaurepaire-Beaconsfield Historical Society Barbara Barclay ensures that the history of 13 Thomson Point is respected and preserved.

So the next time you take a walk to Thomson Point remember to take a good look at number 13, and if you are observant you might just see someone, or something, looking back!

Sources: Beaconsfield and Beaurepaire by R. Baird and G. Hall;
Discover Beaurepaire-Beaconsfield produced by the Beaurepaire-Beaconsfield Historical Society; West Island Chronicle article by Alex Leduc October 27, 2008

Researched and written by J. Clark

Centennial Hall
1940s










13 Thomson Point
Source: Beaconsfield Archives

Maisons Historique

Édifice Centennial faits saillants

  • Résidence de J. Léonide Perron, le premier maire de Beaconsfield
  • Vendu en 1940 à Léo  Dandurand, copropriétaire du club de hockey des Canadiens de Montréal et restaurateur
  • Vendu en 1953 aux sœurs du Bon Pasteur et la résidence devint une école de la Protection de la jeunesse pour jeunes filles
  • Acheté par la ville de Beaconsfield le 12 janvier 1965 pour la somme de 190 000 $ qui y  installa les services administratifs et techniques. En 1968, l’Hôtel de ville emménagea dans ses locaux actuels; le bâtiment fut rebaptisé Édifice Centennial pour commémorer l’année du centenaire du Canada, 1967, et fut converti en centre culturel.

Sources: Beaconsfield et Beaurepaire, p. 72-73  www.beaconsfield.ca
Recherches et rédaction: M. Purvis

 

Le no 13 de la pointe Thomson

Le 18 mai 1678, Jean Guenet recevait une terre en concession. À l’époque, on appelait cette terre « la pointe de Beaurepaire », mais celle-ci est mieux connue aujourd’hui sous le nom de pointe Thomson. Le 4 avril 1769, soit quatre-vingt-onze ans plus tard, Amable Burot, décrit comme un « bourgeois voyageur », acquérait le contrôle de la ferme Guenet et procédait à la construction d’une grande maison de 65 pieds sur 38 pieds en incorporant les fondations qui avaient probablement été érigées là par M. Guenet vers 1701.

Ces fondations se trouvent encore sous le no 13 de la pointe Thomson, ce qui en fait ainsi la plus vieille maison de Beaconsfield. Les murs de la cave ont une épaisseur qui atteint 3 pieds en certains endroits et présentent trois ouvertures étroites que l’on appelle des meurtrières, côté sud. Celles-ci auraient peut-être servi à défendre le bâtiment contre les agresseurs et indiquent que le bâtiment a probablement été un poste de traite fortifié à une certaine époque. Les propriétaires précédents ont raconté avoir déjà trouvé un squelette et des fers dans une partie de la cave qui aurait peut-être servi de prison.

La maison comporte aussi de magnifiques montants de toit au grenier, des grandes poutres du rez-de chaussée montées côte à côte comme au Château Ramezay à Montréal ainsi qu’un foyer central – toutes des indications de l’âge de la maison.

La maison a appartenu à de nombreuses personnes au fil des ans. La famille Reford en a été propriétaire de 1891 à 1907 et l’actuelle propriétaire, Barbara Barclay, a raconté avoir trouvé d’anciens gants de jardinage qui auraient peut-être été portés par Elsie Reford elle même. Si jamais vous avez la chance de visiter la maison aujourd’hui, vous y trouverez un logis reflétant les intérêts éclectiques de l’actuelle propriétaire. À titre de présidente de la Société historique de Beaconsfield-Beaurepaire, Mme Barclay veille à ce que l’historique du no 13 de la pointe Thomson soit respecté autant que préservé.

Alors la prochaine fois que vous vous promènerez sur la pointe Thomson, rappelez vous de jeter un coup d’œil au numéro 13. Si vous êtes bon observateur, vous y verrez peut être quelqu’un – ou quelque chose – vous rendre le regard!

Sources: Beaconsfield et Beaurepaire, par R. Baird et G. Hall;
À la découverte de Beaurepaire-Beaconsfield, produit par la Société historique de Beaurepaire Beaconsfield;Article d’Alex Leduc paru dans le West Island Chronicle le 27 octobre 2008

Recherche et rédaction: J. Clark

Édifice Centennial
circa 1940










13 de la Pointe Thomson
Archives, Ville de Beaconsfield