The History of Northwest Beaconsfield’s Street Names

Alice-Carrière

Mlle Lepine married Louis Carrière.  They lived on Woodland Avenue and the post office was in their home.  Mme Carrière was postmistress from 1919 to 1946.  She was highly esteemed in the community and a large collection was taken by her friends when she retired as postmistress.

Malcolm-Beaton

Malcolm Beaton was hired as a town superintendent in 1917.  His job was all inclusive: he was a constable, engineer, dog catcher, electrical inspector, supervisor of all the repairs and jobs in town.  He was respected by all who knew him and was considered an exceptional man.  The children thought of him as very important indeed and believed the town was named Beatonsfieldafter Malcolm Beaton.

Sidney-Cunningham

Sidney Cunningham moved to Beaurepaire from Verdun.  He was a school commissioner from 1927 to1930 and was the first president of the Beaconsfield Citizens’ Association in 1923. In the same year he was president of the Christ Church Tennis Club.  He owned the first General Store in the Beaurepaire Commercial Plaza in 1929.

John-Henry-Menzies

John-Henry Menzies was a developer of the Grove property in the last century.  He was among those responsible for making Beaconsfield attractive as a summer place and was in fact responsible for giving Beaconsfield its name.

James-Shaw

James W. Shaw was mayor of Beaconsfield from 1928-1936.  He was the founder and owner of the Beaurepaire Golf Course.

Researcher: Gisèle Hall
Written by Margo Purvis

La petite histoire les noms de rue du secteur nord-ouest de Beaconsfield

Alice-Carrière

Mlle Lépine a épousé Louis Carrière.  Ils vécurent sur l’avenue Woodland, où le bureau de poste était installé dans leur maison.  Mme Carrière fut postière de 1919 à 1946.  Elle était très estimée dans la communauté et, lorsqu’elle prit sa retraite, ses amis firent une grande collecte en son honneur.

Malcolm- Beaton

Malcolm Beaton fut embauché  comme surintendant à la ville en 1917.  Il cumulait plusieurs fonctions: il était à la fois: agent de police, ingénieur,  attrapeur de chiens, inspecteur des services d’ électricité, et supervisait tous les travaux et  les réparations de la Ville. Il était respecté de tous ceux qui le connaissaient et considéré comme un homme d’exception. Les enfants le trouvaient très important et croyaient que la ville s’appelait ‘’Beatonsfield’’ d’après

Malcolm Beaton.

Sidney-Cunningham

Sidney Cunningham vint de Verdun pour aménager à Beaurepaire.  Il fut commissaire scolaire de 1927 à 1930 et fut le premier président de l’Association des citoyens de Beaconsfield en 1923. La même année, il devint président du Club de tennis Christ Church. Il fut propriétaire du premier magasin général dans la zone commerciale  de Beaurepaire en 1929.

John-Henry-Menzies

John-Henry Menzies fut l’un des développeurs de la propriété Grove lors du dernier siècle. Il fut l’un des responsables qui firent de Beaconsfield un lieu attirant pour l’été et il est à l’origine du nom de Beaconsfield.

James-Shaw

James W. Shaw fut maire de Beaconsfield de 1928 à 1936.  Il fut fondateur et propriétaire du Club de golf Beaurepaire.

Recherches: Gisèle Hall; rédaction : Margo Purvis ; traduction : A. Bourel