On a Sunday afternoon drive in the winter of 1978, we fell in love with a house listed for sale in Beaconsfield. The following June, we became the happy owners of the property, our home to this day. We were enthralled with the house, the mature trees and Lake St. Louis.

In August 1979, I started to work at the Beaconsfield Library. My second dream had come true. I found myself among endearing and refined co-workers and in an atmosphere of commitment. Many women volunteers worked alongside the staff performing such duties as staffing the circulation desk, processing new documents and repairing shopworn books. The volunteers and staff also assisted in planning activities of a social nature, such as book launches and guest speaker events.

During this time, I met Marguerite Beaudet, known as Madame Beaurepaire, a volunteer who worked at the library for 32 years. Why did she have this quaint surname, you may ask? Here is an abridged version of the story as she told it to me, with added excerpts drawn from “Beaconsfield and Beaurepaire” by Robert L. Baird and Gisele Hall, published in 1998.

Door to door postal delivery was inaugurated in 1957. At this time the postmaster sent a notice informing residents that they would no longer need to include the name Beaurepaire to their addresses. All mail would; henceforth, be simply addressed to Beaconsfield, Quebec. Marguerite, a resident of Fieldfare Avenue, proud of Beaurepaire and its ancestry, was so incensed, that she set out to gather some 300 names for a petition. She presented the petition to the Municipal Council of Beaconsfield; whereby, she pled in favor of maintaining the name. The Council gave their support. Soon afterwards, another letter to the residents was issued:

"The whole question has been reviewed and the Postmaster General, William Hamilton, has instructed that the correct address of your mail is “Beaurepaire, Quebec”. No other community name or designation is required.”

Madame Beaurepaire’s eyes sparkled. She was indeed so proud to have saved Beaurepaire from oblivion. Marguerite has now left us, but she continues to live on in our memories and in our hearts. I invited her to join us for the celebration on June 4th in the village of Beaurepaire. I await her response.

Written by N. Tremblay
Translated by M. Janis

Photo caption: Madame Beaudet, Beaconsfield Library, 1982

Source: Beaconsfield and Beaurepaire, R.L. Baird and G.Hall, 1998

À l’hiver 1978, lors d’une ballade du dimanche après-midi, nous avons eu un coup de cœur pour une maison qui était à vendre à Beaconsfield… et au mois de juin suivant, nous en sommes devenus les heureux propriétaires! Nous le sommes toujours. Nous sommes tombés spontanément en amour, non seulement avec la maison, mais aussi avec les beaux arbres matures et le lac Saint-Louis.

En août 1979, je fus embauchée à la bibliothèque de Beaconsfield. Mon deuxième rêve se réalisait. J’y ai découvert une communauté engagée, composée de gens attachants et cultivés. Plusieurs dames bénévoles, encadrées par le personnel, y travaillaient, soit au prêt, soit à la préparation matérielle des nouveaux documents ou à la réparation des ouvrages abîmés, soit en secondant les responsables dans l’organisation des activités, telles des animations de livres et des conférences.

C’est à ce moment-là que j’ai fait la connaissance de Marguerite Beaudet, dite Madame Beaurepaire, qui a œuvré bénévolement à la bibliothèque durant trente-deux ans. Pourquoi ce surnom, me direz-vous? Voici ce qu’elle m’a raconté et que je retranscris en résumant des extraits tirés de Beaconsfield et Beaurepaire, de Robert L. Baird et Gisèle Hall, publié en 1998.

Lorsque le courrier fut distribué aux maisons en 1957, un avis fut envoyé, par le maître de poste, à tous les résidants, leur précisant qu’il n’était plus nécessaire d’écrire Beaurepaire sur leur courrier. « Tout courrier devait dorénavant être adressé à Beaconsfield, Québec. » Marguerite, résidante de l’avenue Fieldfare, « fière de Beaurepaire et de ses ancêtres » fut tellement insultée qu’elle recueillit 300 noms pour une pétition qu’elle présenta au conseil municipal de Beaconsfield où elle plaida en faveur du maintien du nom. Le conseil la supporta. Peu de temps après, une autre lettre fut envoyée aux résidants :

«Toute la question a été révisée et le ministre des Postes, William Hamilton, nous a avisés que l’adresse conforme pour votre courrier est « Beaurepaire, Québec ». Aucun autre nom de lieu ou de désignation n’est requis. »

Les yeux de Madame Beaurepaire pétillaient. Elle était tellement fière d’avoir sauvé Beaurepaire de l’oubli. Marguerite nous a quittés, mais elle vit toujours dans nos mémoires et dans nos cœurs. Je l’ai même invitée à se joindre à la fête du 4 juin prochain dans le village de Beaurepaire. J’attends sa réponse!

Rédigé par N. Tremblay
Traduction: M. Janis
Photo: Mme Beaudet, Bibliothèque, 1982

Source: Beaconsfield and et Beaurepaire, R.L. Baird and et G.Hall, 1998