A family from the United States moved to Montrose Drive in Beaconsfield in 1970. After a visit from the Welcome Wagon hostess, the resident discussed the idea of forming a Newcomers Club.  She didn’t know anyone and had belonged to such a club in the United States. Her feelings were that such a club served a very useful purpose.

Obtaining the names and addresses of newly arrived families from the Welcome Wagon hostess, she organized a small meeting in her home in July of 1970.

In January 1971, the first official meeting took place at Centennial Hall.
At that time, the Welcome Wagon hostess had acquired the by-Laws of the Newcomers Club and used them as a guide to officiate the meeting. A slate of officers was presented and duly elected. Louise Lammers became the first Newcomers President. The Welcome Wagon hostess officiated at the installation of the officers in the spring of 1971 at a moving candlelit ceremony.

The Newcomers at this time were called The Welcome Wagon Beaconsfield Newcomers Club. Since we are no longer affiliated with Welcome Wagon this has been dropped from the title.

During the first few years there were only two official business meetings per year one in September and one in June. Social activities were organized by the working group for the remaining months. This was more work for the monthly groups as each member had to be phoned for the activities. There was no newsletter at that time, but the activities were very well attended and appreciated.

Over the years, the membership increased considerably and because of this, a general decision was made in September 1990 to change the format of the meetings to a once per month with special activities during the year.

In September 2006 the BNC logo was created.

Every year, a new Executive Committee is elected and is responsible for the meetings and activities of that year. Many members have great ideas for activities and organize them as a Convenors. Much credit should be given to the Executives and Convenors, many of whom have served for several years in different positions.

Treasured memories are:

We are very proud of the fact that Beaconsfield was the first community in the province of Quebec to have a Newcomers Club.

Thanks goes out to all of those who were so dedicated in the past years and to all of those who still are.

People you meet at the Beaconsfield Newcomers Club may become your friends for life!

Written by A. Schouwenaars, Beaconsfield Newcomers Club Newsletter Editor,  2006/2007

En 1970, une famille venue des États-Unis aménagea sur Montrose Drive à Beaconsfield. Après avoir reçu la visite de l’hôtesse du Welcome Wagon, la nouvelle  résidente eut l’idée de former un Club pour les nouveaux arrivants. Elle ne connaissait personne mais avait fait partie d’un club similaire aux États-Unis. Elle avait l’impression qu’un tel club serait très apprécié.

Grâce à l’aide de l’hôtesse du Welcome Wagon qui lui fournit les noms et adresses des nouvelles familles, elle organisa une petite rencontre chez elle en juillet 1970.

En janvier 1971, la première réunion officielle se tint à l’édifice Centennial.
Dès lors, l’hôtesse du Welcome Wagon avait établi les règlements du Club des Nouveaux arrivants et elle les utilisa comme guide pour les rencontres.  Une liste de candidats fut proposée et une élection eut lieu.
Louise Lammers devint la première Présidente des Nouveaux arrivants. L’hôtesse du Welcome Wagon présida à l’installation des membres du bureau au printemps de 1971 lors d’une émouvante cérémonie aux chandelles.

À cette époque, les Nouveaux arrivants s’appelaient Le club Welcome plus affiliés au Welcome Wagon et cette partie a été retirée du titre.

Pendant les premières années, il n’y eut que deux rencontres officielles par année, l’une en septembre et l’autre en juin. Le groupe de travail organisait les activités sociales pour les mois à venir. C’était beaucoup de travail pour le groupe mensuel qui devait téléphoner à chaque membre pour les activités. Il n’existait pas de bulletin à ce moment là, mais les activités étaient très appréciées et beaucoup y assistaient.

Au fil des ans, les adhésions ont augmenté considérablement et, en conséquence, en septembre 1990, on décida à l’unanimité  de changer la fréquence des réunions à une par mois avec des activités spéciales tout au long de l’année.

Le logo BNC fut créé en septembre 2006.

Chaque année, on procède à l’élection d’un nouveau comité auquel incombe la responsabilité des réunions et des événements de l’année. Plusieurs des membres ont de bonnes idées pour l’organisation et la réalisation d’activités.  Les membres de l’exécutif et les organisatrices ont beaucoup de mérite car beaucoup d’entre elles ont servi pendant plusieurs années à des postes différents.

Souvenirs inoubliables
Repas de Noël préparés par les membres elles-mêmes et servis au Stewart Hall.

Nous sommes très fières du fait que Beaconsfield ait été la première communauté du Québec à avoir eu un Club des Nouveaux arrivants.

Nos sincères remerciements à toutes celles qui se sont dévouées au club au cours des années passées et à celles qui s’y impliquent encore aujourd’hui.

Les personnes que vous rencontrez au Club des Nouveaux arrivants deviendront peut-être des amies pour la vie!

Rédigé par A. Schouwenaars, éditeur, Beaconsfield Newcomers Club Bulletin, 2006/2007